< Back

Food for thought – the Letters to the Seven Churches

Hebrew hermeneutics recognises Scripture on four levels which can operate simultaneously.

  1. P’shat – direct, simple;
  2. Remez – hinting
  3. Darash – commentary, comparison and
  4. Sod – deep, hidden

Perhaps the Sod or deeper meaning to the Seven Letters to the Seven Churches could denote the timeline from the Garden of Eden, the Fall of man (Genesis 3) to the Restoration of man to God (Revelation 20). Having said this, the Letter to the Church of Ephesus would be the lost of first love in the Garden of Eden and the Letter to the Church of the Laodiceans mirrors the 1,000 years the saints reign with Christ in Revelation 20.

Jehu and Christine are teaching the next class on the Book of Revelation from the Hebraic Lens on August 20, 2016 from 4 pm to 6 pm at CT Hub 1, Joshua Room #11-06.